Åland Post’s stamp featuring sea-buckthorn took silver

Åland Posts havtornsfrimärke vann silverplats

Åland Post is pleased to announce that the Åland sea-buckthorn stamp has won silver in the vote for the most beautiful Sepac stamp 2022. SEPAC, the co-operative body for the small postal administrations in Europe, issues postage stamps each year on a common theme, and the 2022 theme was locally produced beverages.

“We are happy and proud that the stamp has found an audience among European collectors. Sea-buckthorn is Åland’s own super berry – culinary, juicy and health promoting. Photographer and set designer of the stamp issue, Tiina Tahvanainen, has created a delicate image of the vitamin C-rich sea-buckthorn drink that tempts the eyes and tickles the taste buds”, says Johanna Finne, Marketing Design Manager at Åland Post Stamps.

The vote for the most beautiful 2022 Sepac stamps took place on the Sepac website www.sepacstamps.eu in the spring of 2023, and a total of 9 stamps from 9 different small European countries and regions were included in the vote. The stamp from Malta received the most votes, while Guernsey's stamp snagged third place.

The sea-buckthorn stamp was issued on 6 September 2022 and may be ordered in the webshop at alandstamps.com.

Also watch the stamp film in which Tiina Tahvanainen talks about her work with the stamp issue:

Meet stamp photographer Tiina Tahvanainen – Åland Stamps (alandstamps.com)

 The vote for the most beautiful 2023 Sepac stamp starts on 29 September 2023 and continues until 31 January 2024 at www.sepacstamps.eu. This year’s theme is traditional markets, and the Åland stamp issued on 27 July shows the Viking market in Saltvik. Everyone who votes participates in the draw for annual collections from all participating postal administrations.

SEPAC is an organisation for the small postal administrations in Europe which have been issuing stamps on a joint theme since 2007. Today, the organisation consists of 12 members, most of which issue their own Sepac stamps every year. The current members are the Åland Islands, the Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greenland, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, and the Vatican City. For more information about the SEPAC cooperation and its members, please visit www.sepacstamps.eu.

Order stamps in the webshop at alandstamps.com, by post to Åland Post Stamps, P.O. box 1100, AX-22111 Mariehamn, Åland, Finland, e-mail stamps@alandpost.com or telephone: +358 18 636 639.

Back to blog